Functions of City Council

The City of Center operates and is administered through a Council-Manager form of Government.  Citizens are represented by the six-member City Council and a mayor who is elected at-large.  Four council members are elected from single member districts and two members are elected at-large.   All of the council members are volunteers but receive a $100 monthly stipend for attending meetings and for expenses related to public service.  The mayor is recognized as the head of the city government for ceremonial and emergency purposes but is not a voting member of the Council except to break a tie.  Each council member and the mayor are elected for staggered two year terms.  The City of Center charter does not provide for term limits.

The Council fulfils the legislative functions of the city, crafting ordinances and developing policies.  They are also tasked with establishing the overall direction of the city  and providing general direction to the city manager.  The Council works closely with the city manager to establish annual goals and objectives and monitors the performance of the City Manager.  The Council also adopts an annual budget which reflects the Council’s spending priorities, and sets the annual property tax rate.

Any citizen can address the Council at any public meeting, however state Open Meetings Laws are very specific that Council or individual members cannot respond or deliberate items not listed on the meeting agenda.  To be listed on the agenda, citizens may contact the City Secretary at least 72 hours prior to the scheduled meeting.

Council meetings are scheduled for the second and fourth Monday of each month at 5:00 p.m. at the City Council chambers at City Hall at 617 Tenaha Street.  Members of the public are invited to attend.

© City of Center  |  City Hall 617 Tenaha Street Center, TX 75935-3552  |  Phone: (936) 598-2941